Is it hard?

25 Feb

Every now and then someone who is interested in taking one of my dance classes comes up to me and asks ” I want to take your class, but I want to know is it hard?”

Ummm, I know we all have concerns and insecurities regarding our skills. I think it doesn’t matter what your career choice is, we all question our abilities at some point, including myself…but I believe we all should challenge ourselves. How would you know how good you are or how good you could get if you don’t challenge yourself.

So my answer to that question is “All the classes I teach is designed for you to push yourself, it’s designed for you to have fun, learn and get better, whether your a beginner or a pro.”

The routine taught last week may have been really challenging physically, the week before that it may have been challenging emotionally, this week it may be easy, but because it’s easy the challenge will be to not make it look so complicated.

Don’t shy away from hard…nothing is really hard if you haven’t tried, and the more you keep at it the easier it becomes, the more you learn and the better you get.  Each class you will have something that you master and something that your like woah, I have to work a little harder which is never a bad thing.

It’s also good to try new things, and take new classes…you may excel at one style..but hey try Salsa, dancehall reggae, break dancing, or a Hip-Hop class taught by another teacher. The fact that you are good at one thing is fantastic, now it’s time to grow so that your more rounded, so that you could pull from other styles and are able to learn from another perspective and method.

To view my class schedule go to http://www.kayannward.com/classes.html

One of these days I’m going to tell you about my first dance class experience…thats a true laugh……lol…for real……:)

Leave a Reply

