Toot Your Own Horn.

27 Apr

I’ve never been one to toot my own horn. When ever I did a job well done I wouldn’t acknowledge it, and to tell you the truth that’s not a good idea and its also not healthy. So I’ve been making it a point to praise myself when I do something good. And not just good, if I need acknowledgement I try my best to praise myself not to be an ego driven person but because its deserving.

So all in all I’m saying Don’t be afraid to toot your own horn. There’s nothing wrong with it, and this is especially for the ladies, sometimes we are quick to say aww it’s OK…., its nothing…well its something Toot your own horn,… why not…..treat yourself to something nice because you deserve it, you worked hard for it…

When you praise yourself it makes you feel good, feeling good is healthy, when your healthy your able to do more things that makes you feel good, That’s a good cycle, a cycle that I would rather be on, instead of feeding myself negative thoughts etc.

You got the audition for the movie or the music video, praise yourself

You got recognized by someone else, praise yourself

You worked hard all month and you want to relax and pamper yourself for a day or two, then do it…

You get the idea.

Me writing this right now is amazing becasue you could tell I’ve grown,  I was always the one to never ever give myself praise.

2 Responses to “Toot Your Own Horn.”

  1. chrissy April 27, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

    yeah, i really think the things we create and accomplish need to be honored.

    it’s almost as if they are incomplete until we’ve given them the respect and acknowledgment, the gratitude they deserve.

    xo
    chrissy

    • kayannward April 27, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

      Thats so true, I never thought of it that way, and it makes perfect sense.

Leave a Reply

