Trying and Doing

17 Aug

OK…so I had a little revelation.

Someone said they are going to try there best and I said no I don’t want you to try your best I want you to do your best.

After thinking, I thought trying is great, and I’m not down playing the importance of trying to do your best, but then you could always say, at least I tried, and depending on what the situation is, I think you need to do your best, not try…get out there and do your best…

Then ask did I get out there and do my best the answer should be yes….

Trying sometimes seems like your not sure of what your doing so you will try…doing your best implies that you know what your doing and you will do it..

Don’t say I’m going to try and have a great performance say I’m going to have a great performance and I will have great performance, don’t say I’m going to try and win the game, say I will win the game, don’t say I’m going to try to remember the choreography, say I will remember the choreography, don’t say I will try to succeed, say I will succeed.

Like I said I’m not down playing Trying…I’m all for it…now push yourself and do your best…every time and all the time.:)

What are your thoughts?

2 Responses to “Trying and Doing”

  1. Fox August 17, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    Awww I am so proud of you. This is very deep and motivational. Plus based on many theories just that slight difference in your thinking patterns could greatly change the outcome. When you say “I will try my best” you leave the option of failure which a. gives you an escape and b. takes a toll on your confidence. Where as the way you are saying people should go into things would indicate in their mind that they have already succeeded. Call it positive thinking, laws of attraction or whatever you want but it has been proven it makes a huge difference.

  2. Ayeesha August 17, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    It also reminds me of saying that either you accept mediocracy or you accept the best in everything. When you accept the best, you do your best without question, by trying you have space for going halfway, or really, the level of mediocracy, and that’s okay too. Everyone is their own individual, and has a mind of their own, but in the end accepting the best for me at least personally, makes the difference in my happiness, you’re also reminding me of Yoda from Star Wars, “”Do or do not… there is no try.”

Leave a Reply

