Morning thoughts on my Crackberry

18 Dec

I had made a conscious decision that before I check my emails and get on any social media sites that I would eat breakfast and pray or simply get in touch with a divine connection before I start my day.

That works for me, it may not work for you.

But it’s not always easy simply because life doesn’t always go as planned.

But I made this decision because I started to notice that the relationship I had with this device was getting out of hand.  The term crackberry was starting to apply to me.

I realized that one of the first things I was doing, was checking my emails before I rolled out of bed, because my crackberry had a permanent place beside me, it also acts as my alarm clock as to why it’s there.

But what I realized a few days ago made me stop and think. I caught myself walking and texting.

I also caught myself checking my phone while someone was talking to me..

Oh my gosh. I had to check myself…

For me that’s not cool, I don’t need to be attached to my phone, to the point that I’m walking and not paying attention to my surroundings and to the point where I’m not giving someone my full attention.

So with all this I’ve decided to make some changes and implement them so that my crackberry is not attached to me and a part of me. Don’t get me wrong I love the fact that it’s made accessing the internet a lot more easy, but like everything else in life we must be conscious.

I’m going to get an alarm clock so I could use it when I need to, my crackberry is no longer lying beside me, it will be on the dresser. More importantly I will not play with my phone when someone is talking to me. When I’m speaking to someone I would like their full attention, so I must give what I want to receive.

I’m sad to say this, but it’s a bad habit, it wasn’t always this way but over time, I’ve managed to develop a really bad habit that I must change because for me it’s not OK.

Some people may say “but what if it’s important…”

My answer to that is really…Is it really that important to walk and text, drive and text, and or keep our eyes down into our phones when in a conversation..

That’s a question that only you could answer for yourself.

 Have a great day.

Dance * Live * Inspire

Kay-Ann

Leave a Reply

