Focus

7 Jan

On Tuesday I had my 1 on 1 workout session with Helen Fox who is a great personal trainer and friend.

Before I went into the gym, matter of fact, the night before, I told myself you know what I’m going to workout and chances are its going to be a challenging workout. I knew that I will have to push myself and I also knew that I had to clear my mind to get the best out of my workout.

I have to say it was an amazing workout. It was tough, and it was hard, my thighs felt like they were going to fall off, but all in all my mind was set and I was focused, because I prepared my thoughts and my attitude from the night before and when I woke up in the morning.

I’m sharing this with you because, FOCUS..If you didn’t know already is vital.

As a dancer I always get my thoughts on track before I enter my rehearsals.

Before I teach my dance workout classes or teach choreography for a show, I prepare my mind to focus. It’s not always easy especially when life gets in the way, and some days are more effective than others. But the point is, to focus, get your mind right.

Get rid of all outside distractions, and negative energy.

The choice is yours, we all have good and bad days, but either way we have a choice in how we let these situations affect our abilities to do what we need to do.

Prepare your mind to get the results you need.

Here are a few tips that’s great for dancers to apply before a dance rehearsal, dance class or show

The night before, the morning of and before your class, rehearsal or show tell yourself you could do it

Quiet your thoughts and focus on how you feel, any feelings and thoughts that are not in alignment with your goals, get rid of them

Know that not because something is a challenge means that you can’t do it, you could do anything that you set your mind to

Before you enter your dance class, rehearsal and or performance, take a deep breath and bring your focus and energy towards making this the best experience for yourself

When you feel yourself doubting your capability, make note of the switch in your thought process and bring your thoughts back to a place of yes I could do this

These tips are for dancers but they could be applied to you even if you are not a dancer

Take these tips and apply your situation to make these tips work for you.

I’m happy I got my mind right, because I had a great workout.

Dance * Live * Inspire

Kay-Ann

3 Responses to “Focus”

  1. Roulette Gelder January 11, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

  2. truco ruleta online January 11, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Great idea, thanks for this tip!

    • kayannward January 13, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      Thanks for reading

      These tips have to be made into daily habits, nothing comes easy, but with constant practice, they become easier to do and maintain.

Leave a Reply

