Are you your worst critic

27 Feb

One thing I find many dancers have in common is we are very hard on ourselves. We beat ourselves up, when we think and feel that our work could have been better.
 
We work endless hours to make it right only to feel dissatisfied at the end.
 
It’s a tough one.
 
Its ok to want things to be better, that’s what keeps us being innovative, on our toes and perfecting our crafts.
 
But we must congratulate ourselves for the work and effort we put out.
 
We are blessed with talents plus our mind, body and soul work very hard as a team to do what it does, so to not appreciate and congratulate ourselves is harmful.
 
But you know what, I would be lying if I said it was easy, one of the biggest things I fight with on a daily basis is being my worst critic, I will spend endless hours in the studio rehearsing, I will dance until I’m out of breath, I will workout hard, but some where in the back of my mind is that voice that says you could have done better.

Being tough on yourself is not wrong, its when you allow that toughness to keep you stagnant and feeling little.

So what I’m learning to do is not let that voice defeat me and tear me apart but to let it guide and push me to always be my best. Yet be thankful for what was accomplished.

That’s really all I could do, and what we could all do.
Be the best that we can be 🙂

Kay-Ann Ward

4 Responses to “Are you your worst critic”

  1. ericdanielandfriends March 16, 2010 at 2:36 am #

    Love it…nice blog you’ve got goin’ on in here!

    • kayannward March 17, 2010 at 4:56 am #

      Thank you for reading:) And taking the time to leave a comment.

  2. Simba March 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Love ya blog ,u represent RESPECT ..!!

    • kayannward March 23, 2010 at 2:09 am #

      Hi Simba thank you for reading and leaving a comment, I appreciate it, make sure you come back..:)

Leave a Reply

