Being concious of now

8 Oct

Mindfulness Also known as living consciously…

I’ve thought about these two powerful words a lot of lately.

These two words mean a lot and they stand for much more than we give them credit for.

To be mindful and conscious is to live in the now, to pay attention to now, to feel now, to be present now

To practice being mindful and conscious, I’ve started to ask myself this question “What are you doing now?  Where are you now? How do you feel now? etc” The point of me doing this is to allow myself to focus on what’s going on inside of me, to pay attention to my surroundings, to know how I’m feeling at that present time and to connect with me.”

Example:  I ask myself “what are you doing now?” (lol..it may sound silly but it works)

“I’m eating” then I ask “what are you eating”…..“Rice and chicken”….“How does it taste”….“It taste really good”…“Why does it taste good”…“Because I like the tenderness of the chicken, its warm, and I appreciate the fact that it’s cooked just for me.”

Or “What’s wrong?” (Many could relate to this one)

“I’m pissed off”

“Why you so pissed off?”

“I’m not having a good day, I’m tired and nothing is working for me”

“What’s not working for you?”

“Life is not working for me right now”

“So what are you going to do about it?”

“I’m going to carry on with my day”

“Are you going to carry on and sulk all day?”

“Though I want to sulk I can’t because sulking is doing nothing for me”

“So what are you going to do to fix your attitude, because you can’t fix what’s on the outside?”

 I hope you get my drift, after asking myself a question, I ask myself probing questions, to get more connected to what it is I’m doing and why I’m doing it.

That way I’m not just doing, just to do, but doing because it’s a choice and one that I’ve consciously made.

This exercise also allows me to catch myself if I’m doing something that’s negative or harmful.

No I don’t do this all the time, however I try to do this as much as possible

Overall the goal is to live now, and be in now, appreciate now, love now, because now is where we are. Not the past and not the future. I ask myself these questions because like talking to someone in order to get to know them and understand them we ask them questions, well it’s the same, to get to know yourself, its good to ask yourself questions that allow you to be present and take ownership of what’s taking place in your life right now.

Kay-Ann Ward

Leave a Reply

