Something greater than fear

7 Mar

Someone once said to me, that it seems like I never get scared.

Wow what an assumption and I wonder what I did to give off that impression.

I had to tell this person that she’s WRONG, that I do get scared.

I get the same yucky symptoms as everyone else. My stomach starts to turn, I worry, and I’ve made myself sick from being so scared.

Ya it use to be bad, the worse part is, I didn’t know I felt the way I did because I was scared, I use to think, that’s just how I felt on that day.

But through time I was able to zone in on the symptoms of being scared.

I’ve learned that fear is an interesting energy and if you allow it to, it will suck you dry, and it will keep you one place.

I’ve learned through experience, that it doesn’t matter what is presented to me, if I’m scared 50% or 100% that I have to try.

And I’ve also learned that I CAN’T do this thing called life by myself, I need guidance and support. That guidance and support comes from my friends, family and the divine power.

So when I feel scared, I acknowledge it.

But I will fight fear to the end.

I’ve made a promise to myself, that I will NOT allow fear to hold me.

With that said, here is a little story of something that happened.

I swear to you its true.

I woke up one day, and I felt sick because I had a lot to do, and I was worried about all of it. And I said to myself “I don’t want to get up, I’m scared, because there is soooooo much to do, and what if I can’t flipping do it”
And I swear to you, I heard a voice in my head, loud as can be said “Don’t be scared”

I stayed in bed for a while, talking to that voice, and it encouraged me to start my day, that it will take care of the rest, I do what I can do, and it will do the rest.

 I got up and started my day.

I needed to hear that voice at that particular moment. Because we all need a picker upper. So off I went, knowing that I have to try.

And maybe that’s what this person seen, the one that said it seems like I’m never scared.

She seen the after math. She seen the work of something greater than me. Because if it was left up to me, I would have stayed in bed, too scared to try and I wouldn’t have written this. She seen me trying and doing. And I’m able to do that because I have family, friends and a greater power fighting fear with me.

Don’t let fear hold you back. We all experience being scared but don’t let it hold you.

“The only real prison is fear, and the only real freedom is freedom from fear.”
~ Aung San Suu Kyi

 Kay-Ann Ward

2 Responses to “Something greater than fear”

  1. Jaime Almond March 7, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Hi Kay-Ann,

    It’s interesting you write about the little voice, I definitely have had that experience too.

    I’m also much like you, I find that I don’t let fear hold me back when I’m aware that it’s fear that is stopping me from wanting to do something.

    Great article.

    Jaime

    • kayannward March 7, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      Thanks for reading Jamie:

      That voice is the best, can’t live without it:)

Leave a Reply

