2 Questions many dancers ask me

4 Aug

2 question many dancers ask me, is how do I get more involved in dance and how do I get to where you are?

So I will try my best to answer these questions.

Question: How do I get more involved in dancing?

Answer: There is no one formulated answer for this question, because it starts with a believe, passion, a step and consistent drive.
Get yourself out there, take classes, develop your personal style, and stay true to you.
Be professional, and take what you do seriously.

Not everyone’s path is the same, so know what you want to achieve. Do your research, before you jump into making major decisions like paying $1,000 for headshots, etc.

Be patient, work on your craft, some get to where they want to get to fast and for the majority of us, it takes a while, but its achievable and you can get there. 

Network with others, know who is who. Build relationships, you don’t have to be best friends, however its a good thing to build positive work relationships.

Question: How do I get to where you are

Answer: Where I am, I don’t know how to answer this, because to many it may seem like I’m on a grand scale, and also to many it may seem like I’m no where. To me, I see myself doing what I love and wanting to share that passion with others. I have come a long way, however I still have quite a journey to go, there is still so much I want to achieve.

I believe dance is more than just a movement, it does wonders for the individual who is dancing, it connects people, and it has a positive impact on everyone, its one of those things that you have to experience to really know why it’s so amazing, and it’s because of this believe why I do what I do. I want people to dance like no one is watching, live life to the fullest, and I want people tobe inspired by each other. I believe I’m able to communicate this message through teaching, choreographing, and artistically directing shows. I have that message tatted on my shoulder (Dance Live Inspire) I’m not saying go out there and get a tattoo, but you may want to write down what keeps you going on a paper,and keep it close to you.

To love to dance is not enough, what’s the reason deep down in your core that makes you want to get up rehearse, teach, and do what you do. It has to be emotional, because that’s what will keep you going.

Be you, not someone else, don’t try to be like another dancer or another choreographer. Be you even when others don’t get you.

Stay true to your values because you will be tested more than once. And take risks. Time and time again, I’ve been tested, and will continue to be tested. And when I go back to why I’m doing what I’m doing, it helps me.

I hope that helps you, and like I said, I’m still on this journey.

So if you love to dance, get up and make the 1st move today. Attend a dance class, introduce yourself to the teacher, introduce yourself to someone in class, then go from there.

P.S: Do you have a dance question, then go ahead ask me. You could be a professional dancer, a new dancer, or a recreational dancer, I would like to help you out, ask and I will answer.

 By the way visit my website and join my mailing list, thats the only way you will really get all the inside scoop on whats hot, updates, class and workshop info, plus great discounts that no one hears about because they are not on my mailing list.

Thanks for reading.

DANCE LIVE INSPIRE
Kay-Ann Ward

Leave a Reply

