Passion/Technique

24 Jun

Great dancers aren’t great because of their technique; they are great because of their passion.

I think this quote is amazing.

In no way am I down playing the importance of technique, however I’m stressing the importance of that fire that comes out when a dancer is on the stage.

For me personally the ability to listen to music and let your body tell a story, the ability to let all your walls down and let the entire audience feel what your feeling is amazing, to me that beats technique.

I appreciate technique, but I can’t watch an entire performance that’s straight technique, I want to feel the dancers passion.

I also like this, because for the longest time I was hung up on the fact that I started training late, you know what that’s fine, I still went and trained, but its not the end of the world. I could dance and the passion is there and will always be there.

Dance your heart out every time you get the chance to…..its who we are as dancers…..Don’t ever hold back….why dance if your not really going to dance…

One Response to “Passion/Technique”

  1. Ayeesha June 25, 2009 at 4:49 am #

    So inspiring!

Leave a comment